Blog Challenge Day #13-What is your earliest memory?

Ok, this one has me thinking HARD.  Sometimes, I think, we have what we believe to be memories but they could be only stories we have been told so often for so long that we think we remember them.  In my case, however, I have a medical ‘thing’ that has affected my memory in such a way that a great deal of my childhood is lost to me.  I can remember the night my mother died when I was 10, but I also remember sometime just before that when I was helping my mother with the dishes and we were having a deep discussion about ‘girl’ stuff.  I have a very clear memory of when I was almost 9 and my baby brother was born.  I was in a tree, as I often was, when I was given the news.  Before that, however, I believe my earliest memory may be when I was 6. I had broken my right arm over the summer and when I began 1st grade, my arm was in a big plaster cast.  I remember being very upset that I couldn’t put my hand on my heart to say the Pledge of Allegiance.  When I cried, the teacher slapped me.  Imagine that??? I can’t say that I remember anything before that.

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Blog Challenge Day #13-What is your earliest memory?

  1. Mike says:

    My fifth birthday. It was a rainy day. I was to have a birthday party. Sometime before the guests arrived, I remember playing out in the rain. And I remember my sister combing my wet hair later so, I suppose, I would be presentable at the party. I don’t remember anything about the party. However, I remember being in the car as my mother driving home my cousin. He was probably 3 or 4 and was playing with a toy wristwatch he had received as a party favor.

Leave a Reply

