Blog Challenge Day #19-What do you collect?

You mean besides dust??  Ok, ok.. I get it.

First of all, I collect trinket boxes.  All sorts of trinket boxes-crystal, porcelain, wood, capiz shell, soapstone and whatever other unique varieties I find.  I have been collecting trinket boxes since my first husband, Dennis, brought one home to me from Dobbs Bargain City in Centralia back in 1973.  I have been collecting ever since.  I have them from many places around the world including Rome, Paris, London, Ireland, Beliz, Honduras, etc., as well as a few antique pieces.  This collection now sits proudly in a lovely curio cabinet.  My family and friends know that if they are ever stumped for a gift, just find a unique trinket box and I will be happy.

Aside from my boxes, I have a wonderful collection of baseball items!  My prized pieces include a baseball autographed by Julian Javier, who was my favorite player when I was growing up.  I also have a ball autographed by Tony Pena, another favorite of mine.. and I have a chunk of the old Busch Stadium.  I was asked once why  I had a chunk of concrete sitting on the shelf.  All I could say was that it was NOT a chunk of concrete, it was a piece of my soul..a piece of my life that meant more to me than there are words to describe.   And finally, I have a MASSIVE collection of baseball cards.  I love them and some of them are truly classics.

There you have it, my collections.  What do YOU collect??

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Blog Challenge Day #19-What do you collect?

  1. Mike Warden says:

    I collect World’s Fair memorabilia although I have never been to one. I have a milk glass vase from the 1939 New York fair. That’s the jewel of my collection. Are you going to write a baseball story?

Leave a Reply

