What to do..What to do…

I started this blog a month ago and immediately set upon a blog challenge that was set up for 31 days.  It gave me the motivation I needed to REMEMBER to blog every day.  Well, now the challenge is over so I am forced to motivate myself in other ways. 

I think I am still getting used to the idea of a blog and trying to figure out what, exactly, belongs here.  I have a couple of writing projects that I choose not to share here simply because to post a part of them would have them out of context and make very little, if any, sense.  Therefore, my plan is to simply post various ideas I come up with and, hopefully, gain some constructive criticism from you, my readers, so that I can discover what works and how it works.  Bear with me on that account, won’t you?

As for today’s thoughts..  I am thinking about the things that tempt people, whether it be money, position, attention, whatever.  What causes one person to strive for success where the next person simply exists?   Is it genetic?  Environmental?  The concept stays with me and I hope to find a few answers.

As the Fourth is upon us, please be safe and have a happy holiday.

This entry was posted in Stuff From My Head. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What to do..What to do…

  1. Mike Warden says:

    Not to be Freudian (because I’m not) but I’ve always wondered if those character traits are formed in very early childhood. I wonder if we’re not struggling to recapture something we left behind us or thought that we left behind us. I can remember as a teenager that all I wanted to do was to get out of the house and be with my friends. Now I don’t even know where most of those friends are. And I now wish that I had spent more time talking to people who aren’t here anymore. I realize that that phase was a part of growing up. And now I am older and find myself wanting to reconnect with people I went to school with. Isn’t life strange, to quote the Moody Blues?

    • stanfordnl says:

      I completely believe that many of those character traits are genetic and cannot be changed, no matter what you do. As a parent, you try all you know to teach them what they need to know, and yet they ultimately make their own decisions and choices, right or wrong. All we can do is pray they listened to SOMETHING we said.

Leave a Reply

